Bach Cantatas : The Cycle Continues

Published on: April 3rd, 2017

Concert duration : 2 hours with intermission
J.S. Bach: Cantate “Ich hab in Gottes Herz und Sinn”, BWV 92
J.S. Bach: Cantate “Herr, gehe nicht ins Gericht”, BWV 105
J.S. Bach: Cantate “Was mein Gott will, das g’scheh allzeit”, BWV 111

Andrew Megill, guest conductor
Jana Miller, soprano
Stéphanie Pothier, mezzo-soprano
François-Olivier Jean, tenor
Clayton Kennedy, baritone
OSM Chrorus

For a third year running, the Arte Musica Foundation welcomes I Musici to take part in Bach’s complete cantata cycle. This year under the direction of Andrew Megill, the orchestra is joined by the OSM Chorus as they perform three cantatas featuring concertante choruses and arias in which voices converse with oboes, horn, and strings. In this selection, Bach’s mastery of word painting, typical of his religious works, is vividly demonstrated.
Photo credits: Ron Jones, Albert Zablit, Chiara Isserlis