2018-2019 SEASON

Artistic Director’s Note

selection_photo_jmz_b_grisFor 35 years, I Musici de Montréal has come to meet you, transport you and move you. As my eighth season as artistic director of this vital ensemble dawns, I invite you to join us in a fabulous journey to the heart of music.

How better to celebrate our 35th anniversary than by inviting family and friends? Throughout the season we will have the great pleasure to share the stage with colleagues such as Stéphane Tétreault, Julie Boulianne, Charles Richard-Hamelin, Marianne Fiset, Stephen Hegedus and Dominique Labelle.

The next wave of conductors from Quebec will certainly not be left out. We’ll invite to the podium Andrei Feher, recently named music director of the Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony, and Jean-Claude Picard, an emerging conductor much in demand on both sides of the Atlantic. What’s more, choirmaster Jean-Sébastien Vallée will collaborate with us during our concert on October 21.

More than ever, musical creation is at the heart of our identity. We are proud to announce that we have commissioned three new works that will add to I Musici’s legacy. Composers Denis Gougeon, Julien Bilodeau and Éric Champagne have accepted the challenge. You will also discover enthralling works by Ana Sokolovic and Olivier Larue.

Always striving to bring new soloists to the attention of music lovers in Montreal, this season we welcome the charismatic cellist Joshua Roman as well as the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra’s stunning principal clarinet, Boris Allakhverdyan. The fabulous pianist Nareh Arghamanyan, a favourite in Montreal, will join us for a concert centred on the music of Bach.

As Canada’s foremost generalist chamber orchestra, we continue in our role as repertoire explorers. Works such as The Protecting Veil by John Tavener, Ginastera’s Concerto for Strings, and the Partita for String Orchestra by Martinů will certainly be high points of the season. On the other hand, Bruckner’s String Quintet, Stravinsky’s Apollo and Copland’s Clarinet Concerto will allow you to rediscover these great composers.

Whether you are one of our long-time followers, an avid music lover or an undaunted explorer, we offer you our talent and creativity.

Jean-Marie Zeitouni
Artistic Director

FacebookTwitterGoogle+EmailPartager

SAISON 2018-2019

Mot du directeur artistique

selection_photo_jmz_b_grisDepuis déjà 35 ans, I Musici de Montréal va à votre rencontre, vous transporte et vous émeut. À l’aube de ma huitième saison à la direction artistique de cet ensemble indispensable, je vous invite à nous rejoindre dans cette grande aventure au coeur de la musique.

Quoi de mieux pour célébrer notre 35e anniversaire que d’y inviter famille et amis ! Tout au long de la saison, nous aurons le grand bonheur de partager la scène avec des complices tel que Stéphane Tétreault, Julie Boulianne, Charles Richard-Hamelin, Marianne Fiset, Stephen Hegedus et Dominique Labelle.

Les chefs québécois de la relève ne seront pas en reste. Nous inviterons au podium Andrei Feher, récemment nommé directeur musical du Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony, et Jean-Claude Picard, chef émergent très en demande des deux côtés de l’Atlantique. De plus, le chef de choeur Jean-Sébastien Vallée collaborera au concert du 21 octobre.

Plus que jamais, la création musicale est au coeur de notre identité. C’est avec fierté que nous créerons trois nouvelles oeuvres, des commandes qui s’ajouteront au legs d’I Musici de Montréal au monde musical. Les compositeurs Denis Gougeon, Julien Bilodeau et Éric Champagne ont accepté de relever le défi. Vous découvrirez également des oeuvres saisissantes d’Ana Sokolovic et d’Olivier Larue.

Toujours désireux de faire découvrir de nouveaux solistes aux mélomanes montréalais, nous accueillerons cette année le charismatique violoncelliste Joshua Roman ainsi que l’éblouissant Boris Allakhverdyan, clarinette solo du Philharmonique de Los Angeles. Adorée du public montréalais, la fabuleuse pianiste Nareh Arghamanyan nous retrouvera lors d’un concert autour de Bach.

En tant que premier orchestre de chambre généraliste au Canada, nous perpétuerons notre rôle d’explorateur du répertoire. Des oeuvres telles que The Protecting Veil de John Tavener, le Concerto pour cordes de Ginastera ou encore la Partita pour cordes de Martinů seront à coup sûr des moments forts de la saison. En contrepoint, le Quintette à cordes de Bruckner, Apollon musagète de Stravinski ou le Concerto pour clarinette de Copland vous permettront de redécouvrir ces grands compositeurs.

Fidèles de la première heure, mélomanes et explorateurs, nous vous offrons notre talent et notre créativité.

Jean-Marie Zeitouni
Directeur artistique

FacebookTwitterGoogle+EmailPartager