Gemma New: A gem for the first time in Montreal!

I Musici is proud to be welcoming, for the first time in Montreal, the New Zealander Gemma New, a true up-and-comer in the world of conducting. She has chosen Bach as the central theme of her first concert on Montreal soil. The influence of the legendary musician can be felt as much in the young Mendelssohn’s Seventh String Symphony as in John Adams’ Shaker Loops.


New is authoritative on the podium, with easy confidence, and great rapport with the orchestra. She’s one of the brightest rising stars in the conducting firmament.
– St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Gemma New stands in the forefront of the younger generation of orchestra conductors. She is currently music director of the Hamilton Philharmonic Orchestra, resident conductor of the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, music director of the St. Louis Symphony Youth Orchestra and principal guest conductor of the Dallas Symphony Orchestra.

The 2019-2020 season is one of major premieres for Gemma New. She has had or will have the opportunity to conduct a number of important ensembles for the first time: the National Symphony Orchestra D.C., the Milwaukee Symphony, the Helsinki Philharmonic, the Kristiansand Symfoniorkester, the Beethoven Orchester Bonn, the Ulster Orchestra, the Opera Theatre of St. Louis, the Cleveland Orchestra, the Philadelphia Orchestra, the San Francisco Symphony, the Detroit Symphony and the Indianapolis Symphony.


I Concertini series – At the heart of the music

In a rethought Bourgie Hall, with the orchestra at its center, the I Concertini concert series is an intimate concert in-the-round formula. For over an hour the conductor takes the spectator on a tour of works seasoned with a series of edifying commentaries and fascinating anecdotes. And for the 11 a.m. performance, a cup of coffee awaits all ticket-holders, while at the 6 p.m. concert, everyone will be greeted with a glass of wine.



Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Fantasia and Fugue in G minor, BWV 542

John Adams (1947-)
Shaker Loops

Shaking and Trembling
Hymning Slews
Loops and Verses
A Final Shaking

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
String Symphony No. 7 in D minor

Andante amorevole
Allegro molto



Single tickets
Ticketpro box office – 514 790 1111 / 1 866 908 9090
Starting at $15



Founded in 1983 by Yuli Turovsky, the I Musici de Montréal Chamber Orchestra is comprised of 15 exceptional musicians whose varied repertoire ranges from the 17th century to today.  Jean-Marie Zeitouni, conductor and artistic visionary, has served as artistic director since 2011. Each I Musici de Montréal concert is a unique experience combining discovery, tradition and innovation in classical music.



Alain Labonté Communications

514 523 9922

I Musici
No Comments

Post A Comment